Name: Ukaegbu Kelechi Jane Matric no.: 18/mhs02/187 Department: Nursing Course: Physiology

Assignment

It is composed of three neurons located in the dorsal root of ganglion, the spinal cord and the thalamus. The neurons include; Primary, Secondary and Tertiary.

The primary neuron always has it's cell body in the dorsal root ganglion of the spinal nerve, the second has it's cell body either in the spinal cord or in the brain stem.

In the periphery, the somatosensery system detects various stimuli by sensory receptors such as by mechanoreceptors for tactile sensation and nociceptors for pain sensation. The sensory information (touch, pain, temperature) is then conveyed to the central nervous system by afferent neuron of which there are a number of different types with varying size, structure and properties. A major somatosensery pathway is the dorsal column-medial lemniscal pathway.