Name: Ajayi Oluwapelumi Ibukunoluwa

Matric no: 19/sms09/008

Course: GST 203

Department: International relations and

diplomacy

CHAPTER TWO: AN HISTORICAL ANALYSIS OF THE

EVOLUTION OF THE NIGERIA STATE.

The historical background of the Nigeria government and politics involves the pre-colonial period and the colonial period in Nigeria. The pre-colonial period is the period before the coming of the colonial masters to Nigeria while the colonial period refers to the Era that colonial administration was established in the country Nigeria.

The Nigeria state is a colonial creation. Prior to the emergence of the Nigeria state, pre-colonial Nigeria comprises of different independent chiefdoms, states, kingdoms and empires. These, among others, include the Borno empire, the Hausa states, and the Sokoto caliphate in the north; the Igbo segmentary societies in the east; Benin kingdom and the Oyo Empire in the west and several ethnic identities in the Benue Valley.

The time when man began to live in Nigeria is not definite, but there are archaeological shreds of evidence from different parts of Nigeria which pointed to the fact that man had settled in the region now known as Nigeria since the palaeolithic period 500,000-9000BC.

The early man who lived in Nigeria during those years worked really hard to cope with his environment. He needed food and this was why he began to hunt animals and to gathered fruits. The early man began to make hand axes. Those were tools which were oval and pointed in shape. Those tools were made during

the early stone age, but they were late refined during the middle stone age and late stone age.

The scientific and technological development of early Nigerian societies: the major landmarks in early Nigerian history was made possible through the excavation works done on places where a man lived in Nigeria in the very remote past. Some of the places where a man lived in Nigeria in the very remote past include Nok, Igbo Ukwu, Ife and Benin among others. They are usually referred to as centres of an ancient civilization.

The Yorubas are one of the largest ethnic group in Nigeria and are united by language. The Yoruba people trace their origin to Oduduwa who was the founder of the kingdom. Ile-Ife is regarded as the ancestral home of the Yoruba people.

The political structures of the Yoruba kingdoms were similar in nature. Each consisted of a capital town, subordinate towns, villages, and farmlands. Each town has a king known as "Oba who resides in the palace called" Aafin".

The king also had other rulers of lesser ranks and status. The lesser rulers were in charge of the subordinate town and wore crowns made of white beads known as "Sese Ofun".

The Igbo people are best known for their segmentary or acephalous way of life. The Igbo are grouped into five sub-cultures:

- the Igbo of Eastern Nigeria
- the Igbo of South-Eastern Nigeria
- the Igbo of North-Eastern Nigeria
- the Western Igbo and
- the Northern Igbo.

One of the most popular versions of the migratory stories of the origin of the Igbo people is the one that points to Israel. This assumption is based on the so-called similarities between the cultures of the Igbo and the ancient Hebrew. Igbo society has always been known as acephalous.

In the Igbo traditional society, there was no highly centralized authority but instead, they had what could be called diffusion of authority into different groups. In other words, they practised direct democracy and or a decentralized system of government because there were no traditional rulers in the form of Oba as in the case of the Yoruba, and so no hereditary claims to the traditional stools as there was never an authority.

Hausa land is located in Northern Nigeria. Hausa land before 1804 was made up of fourteen states and they were of two distinct groups. The first group consists of seven states called "Hausa Bakwai" state, that is, Hausa legitimate states which consist of Daura, Biram, Zaria, Kastina, Kano, Rano, and Gobir while the second group consist of the remaining seven states and were known as "Hausa Banza" state: Nupe, Gwari, Yauri, Bauchi, Zamfara, Kebbi, Yoruba.

The "Sarki" was known as the head of any typical Hausa state. Sarkin Kasar, which means "ruler of the land", was the full title given to any effective and efficient head of Hausa state. The emirate system of government among the land in the fourteenth century and by the fifteenth century it was accepted as the religion of the ruling class.

Furthermore, to make the local government efficient and effective, the Emir approved an official knownas "Hakimi". Each district was further subdivided into villages, each village into wards, for administrative purposes. The "Hakimi" appointed village heads to assist him in collecting taxes for the emirate.

That's basically all chapter 2 was all about.