OLAOFE OLUWASEMILORE FELICIA

ANATOMY

19/MHS01/330

GST 203

CHAPTER TWO

AN HISTORICAL ANALYSIS OF THE EVOLUTION OF THE NIGERIAN STATE

The pre-colonial period and the colonial period in Nigeria involved the historical background of Nigeria government and politics. The pre-colonial period is the period before the coming of the colonialists to Nigeria while the colonial period refers to the era that colonial administration was established in country Nigeria. The Nigerian state is a colonial creation.

The exact time when man began to live in Nigeria is unknown but there are archaeological evidences from different parts of Nigeria which pointed to the fact that man had settled in the region now known as Nigeria since the Palaeolithic period 500,000-9000BC. It was confirmed that Nigerian also took part in the stone-age civilisation. It was divided into several periods. These are: early stone age, middle stone age and late stone age. The man who lived in Nigeria during those years worked hard to cope with his environment. Firstly, he needed food and in order to achieve this he had to invent tools to assist in hunting animals and gathering fruits. More advanced technology in various part of Nigeria during the bronze and metal age were also discovered. These periods were one of the most active periods of technological efforts in Nigeria.

Major Landmark in Early Nigerian History:

- -Nok Culture/Civilisation
- -Benin Civilisation
- -Ife Civilisation
- -Igbo Ukwu Civilisation

Traditional Political Institutions in Pre-colonial Nigeria

The three ethnic groups of Yoruba, Igbo and Hausa-Fulani in Nigeria traditional political system of government are examined.

Yoruba

The Yorubas origin is traced to Oduduwa who was the founder of the Yoruba kingdom. Ile-Ife is regarded as the ancestral home of the Yoruba people. The centre to believed to exist when the world was created is called Oke Oramfe in Ile-Ife. The pattern of administration was hierarchal.

The Oyo Empire:

- i.The Alaafin Administration
- ii. The Ogboni Cult's Administration
- iii. The Army

Igbo

The Igbo people are grouped into five sub-cultures:

- The Igbo of Eastern Nigeria
- The Igbo of South-Eastern Nigeria
- The Igbo of North-Eastern Nigeria
- The Western Igbo and
- The Northern Igbo

The family was the smallest political unit in Igbo tradional society.

Hausa

Hausa land is located in northern Nigeria. The combined kingdoms of Hausa land were sometimes called the Daura, since Daura is the place where Bayajidda supposedly founded the Hausa people. The Sarki was known as the head of any typical Hausa state. He worked with a retinue of officials in a well-organised court. Islam was introduced to Hausa land in the fourteenth century, and by the

fifteenth century it was accepted as the religion of the ruling class. In every state conquered, the former Hausa ruler was replaced by a Fulani Emir.

Important title holders in the Emir's cabinet included:

- 1. Sarkin Fada: The spokesman of the emir and organiser of the palace workers.
- 2. Waziri: The Prime Minister of Emirate
- 3. Galadima: The Administrator of the capital city
- 4. Madawaki: The commander and Head of the Emirate Army
- 5. Magaji: Government Treasurer in-charge of the government treasury
- 6. Sarkin Dan Doka: Inspector General of Police Force called Dan Doka
- 7. Sarkin Ruwa: Minister in-charge of water resources or the river fishing official
- 8. Sarkin Pawa: Head of chairman of Butchers at the Abattoir
- 9. Yari: Chief Superintendent of Prisons in the Emirate.

The Portuguese were the first Europeans to arrive in Nigeria through Bini kingdom. The Trans-Atlantic slave trade was the unfortunate channel that put the British in contact with Nigeria. The May 1906 amalgamation is known as the first ever amalgamation of the British in Nigeria. The second amalgamation was that of January 1914, through which the Northern and Southern Nigeria were amalgamated by the British government. During the second amalgamation, Nigeria was governed by a system popularly referred to as "Indirect Rule".